Indiana defeats Michigan and wins all but two events on both sides

Indiana versus Michigan

  • January 14, 2023
  • SCY (25 meters)
  • Results
  • Women: Indiana 208.5 – Michigan 91.5
  • Men: Indiana 212 – Michigan 88

Indiana hosted Michigan yesterday as the teams faced off for the first time since 2021. Last year’s meeting was canceled due to COVID-19. All four teams were ranked in SwimSwam’s most recent top 25 performance rankings, released earlier this year.

Ladies highlights

In the women’s event, the Peplowski sisters led the way for Indiana as they each picked up three individual wins and also contributed to a relay win. second grader Anna Pepłowski won the 200 freestyle in a 1:47.21 and led the way for a 1-2-3 Indiana sweep in the event. Finished behind Anna Peplowski Elise Heiser (1:49.39) and Mac Looze (1:49.95).

Anna Peplowski had a quick turn but was able to pick up another individual win in the next event, the 100 backstroke. Anna Peplowski touched ahead of her teammate in 53.84 Mya DeWitt who swam a 54.95. Anna Peplowski rounded out her individual wins when she also won the 200 backstroke. She touched in 1:56.93 and led the way for an Indiana sweep. Mary Denigan (1:59.09) and Elise Heiser (1:59.31) touched second and third place respectively.

The team of Anna Peplowski, Ashley TurakMac Looze and Kristina Paegel rounded out the meeting with a win in the 400 freestyle relay. Anna Peplowski led with 50.11 and Paegle anchored with 49.18, the fastest split ever in the field.

Older sister and fifth year Noelle Peplowski kicked off the meeting with the winning 200 medley breaststroke in Indiana. Peplowski separated a 27.64, the fastest division in the breaststroke field. The relay also consisted of Kacey McKenna, Elizabeth Broscher, and Paegel. They touched in a finishing time of 1:38.80.

Noelle Peplowski won the individual 100 breaststroke with a time of 59.93. She was the only swimmer below the 1:00 mark as Michigans Letitia Sim Second in 1:00.71. Noelle wasn’t far from her midseason time when she swam a 59.17 there. She holds a personal best of 58.91 in the event where she swam back in the 2020 Big Tens.

Noelle Peplowski also got a win in the 200 chest touches in 2:09.40. She easily won the event when Michigan’s sim touched in 2:12.84. Rounding out her individual wins for Noelle Peplowski was a win in the 200 IM when she touched in 1:59.69. Michigan’s Letitia Sim touched again in second behind Noelle as Sim swam a 2:00.74.

Mary Denigan also garnered numerous wins for the Hoosiers. Denigan swept the distance free events as she won the 1000 free in 9:48.93 and the 500 free in 4:49.77.

Freshman Kristina Paegle picked up wins for the Hoosiers in the 50 and 100 freestyle. Paegle won the 50 free touchings in a 22:40 touching just ahead of Michigan Lindsay Flynn who finished second in 22.49. In the 100, Paegle touched in 49.60 and was the only swimmer under the 51-second mark.

Highlighting the women’s side for the Wolverines was freshman Katie Crom who won the 200 butterflies in 2:00.65. She won the event by over a second. Crom also finished second in the 500 Free with 4:51.03.

The other individual victory was to go for the Wolverine women Brady Kendall. Kendall won the 100 butterfly touches in 54.39.

Men’s highlights

The Indiana men won all but two events on Saturday. Pioneering for Indiana Brendan Burns who got three individual wins. Burns won the 100 backs in 46.29 and the 200 backs in 1:42.56. Burns finished before Michigan Wyatt Davis who finished second in both events. Burns also won the 200 fly by a wide margin as he touched down on Michigan in 1:42.11 Gal Cohen Groumi who touched in 1:48.82.

Rafael Miroslaw also led the charge for the Hoosier men as he won the 200 Free in 1:35.28. He also won the 100 Free in a 43.63. In the 50s, Miroslaw finished second with a 20.04 behind teammate Van Mathias, who swam a 19.59. Finn Brooks completed the 1-2-3 sweep for Indiana when he touched in an 11-20.

Tom Frankel also made major contributions to the Hoosier effort. Frankel won the 100 fly in 46.58, winning by over a second and a half over Michigan’s Gal Choen Groumi, who finished second in 48.28.

He was also a member of the winning 200 medley relay, which also consisted of Luke Barr, Van Mathias and Jack Franzman. They touched in a finishing time of 1:25.74. Frankel was also in the winning 400 free relay which consisted of Miroslaw, Gavin Wright, and Matthew. They touched in a winning time of 2:54.29. Wright had the fastest split of the field at 43.09.

In the closest 200cc race of the meet, Indianas Josh Matheny clinched a win in the 200 breaststroke. Matheny just touched Michigan’s head in 1:59.54 Ansel Froas who swam a 1:59.84.

fifth year Jared Daigle took the lone two wins for the Michigan men. Daigle won the 1000 Free in 9:08.67 and the 200 IM in 1:47.30. Both times were his fastest doubles-meeting swims of the season so far.

Other event winners: